The Columbus CSCMP Roundtable Educational focus is actually a team effort. I have been the Education Chair for several years since I became a Past President of the Roundtable. Tim Neroni, another Past  President and John DiCecco joined the effort over a year ago which helped significantly to expand our outreach to the community. This year Jeff Clark has volunteered to assist us as well. Andy Keller has been involved as well, particularly in the LaLonde Scholarship. Supply Chain education is a primary mission of CSCMP and is worthy of this resource commitment from our roundtable.

In addition to our regular monthly meetings and tours and annual Spring Roundtable event, the following are additional specific educational efforts underway:

Bernard J. LaLonde Scholarship:
Established in 1990 through fund raising efforts of the Past Presidents of the Columbus Roundtable, an endowment was established at OSU Fisher College of Business specifically for Logistics. For 2009 we are leading a revitalized marketing effort to bolster the endowment to offset the affects of year over year trend in the cost of tuition versus inflation.

CSCMP Global Convention Student Sponsorship:

The Columbus Roundtable usually sponsors up to 2 college students to attend the Global CSCMP convention every fall.  We are one of a few roundtables that are able to sponsor 2.  This is a great experience for students as it is fully funded by CSCMP and the Roundtable and grants them ultimate exposure to the Supply Chain Industry while engaging them in the program.

Central Ohio College and University Outreach:

With the expanded resources of our educational team we have started to reach out to local colleges and universities to explore and create additional awareness to CSCMP and offering speaker services to the classroom and connecting to other CSCMP programs.

Topic Specific Educational Workshops:

Last season we held a full day workshop on Executive Decisions in Supply Chain Management. The program targeted key areas on interest in Supply Chain and featured two well published industry leaders, Ken Ackerman and Art VanBodegraven.  We plan to hold another topic focused workshop in January 2010 timeframe.